Training / Health: Sore Throat / Inflammation of the throat due to Indoor training - Your experience

Hi there,

I am now biking for several years, following structured training for 3 years with the last two TR Indoor training.

Since I started training indoors I have developed problems with my throat quite regulary (felt sore, disappeared soon after backing of from Indoor riding). The last couple of months the problems increased into inflammations of the throat (2nd time now this year) and I have to give up training for some longer period each time (visit a physician for adequate advise).

My physician says this may be related to indoor training (northern hemisphere, so winter now here with low humidity indoors and a fan blowing directly onto upper body, upper legs including face and extensive breathing).
In the past I already reduced the fans (from two to one on lowest level, works fine for my workouts). I also plan to position it that way it will just cover upper body and some leg area with excluding the face. Maybe I will also put some water tank on the heater to increase humidity.
I also try to drink as much as I feel like and the workouts allow (not possible during VO2Max-Intervalls). Maybe try some kind of throat lozenge?
Also following TR in-ride-instructions for breathing - maybe there is some room for alterations?

What is your experience? Encounterd same problem and how did / do you address it? Thanks!

Summary of advices below (last update: 19Mar2019)

• wear a buff indoors
  • temperature not too low
  • low speed fan
  • use a towel to dry your chest during rest periods
  • change jerseys
  • open the shirt during the repetitions and close it again during rest periods
  • drink a lot
  • take a shower immediately, just finished
  • check if allergic to dust
  • avoid getting “dirty” air directly into your face (clean fan or get one with air purifying)
  • try getting the air flow directly away from the nose and mouth and increasing the humidity a bit