Wahoo Kickr Snap - humming, knocking noise

Hi all,

I’ve been using the 2017 Gen 2 Kickr Snap for a few months now, and suddenly it developed a weird humming sound. Can be described as knocking at low velocities.

I tightened all visible bolts on the machine, did a few Wahoo app spindowns, to no avail.

Contacted Wahoo support via email but they’ve been non-responsive for 4 days and counting. Anyone have any similar experience? How did you solve it?

My Snap developed a hum. Wahoo had me tighten the set screws on the roller and torque the flywheel bolt but it still hummed. They ended up replacing it. My new one is about 3 months old now and has developed a slight vibration but it has stayed the same for a few weeks now.

Thanks, could you elaborate a bit more on the ‘flywheel bolt’?

Is that bolt hidden behind a plastic cover?

Yep.

Cheers.

Did you already try tightening that one?

I did not, thanks for the tip. Did Wahoo specify any particular torque?

Here is what they sent me.

• The first bolt holds the flywheel in place and is easiest to tighten, requiring only a pick to pry off the cap, a 19mm socket wrench, and a rubber mallet or hammer.
  1. Remove the plastic cap by inserting and prying with a pick (this cap is cosmetic and can be safely removed permanently or replaced with black tape or a sticker).

2. Use the 19mm socket to tighten the flywheel nut by turning clockwise.

3. Hold flywheel to prevent it from spinning and tighten the bolt. Once fully tightened by hand, use a mallet or hammer on the socket wrench handle to quickly tighten the bolt by impact. One hand can be used to hold the wrench against the bolt and stabilize the flywheel at the same time, as shown below. Gently repeat if still loose, avoiding over-tightening (5nm is ideal).

2 Likes

And this for the roller bolts:

• At this point, it’s a good idea to test if the problem has been corrected. If the issue persists, continue by tightening the two 3mm roller bolts as follows:

Tools needed: