"What cycling product would you love to have but is not available on the market?"

I’m an engineer/slow triathlete that has designed and manufactured product (from consumer, medical devices, to agricultural…) for over 25 years. I would love to design, make, test and ultimately distribute something for the cycling community. I thought that this forum would be a great place to get some great ideas.

Thank you all for sharing your ideas!! Please find a rough pareto of all 100 up to March 26th. I did not eliminate ideas that have possible existing solutions. I also grouped ideas into general categories in a separate chart.

Paretocycle2

1 Like

I don’t need it but I have been very surprised that there hasn’t been a cross between cycling and running shoes to allow for quicker transitions, some sort of cleat actually built into the bottom of the shoe that attached directly to the pedal

2 Likes

A spindle based dual sided crank power meter for mountain bikes. Boost spacing has made Stages style meters harder to fit on all frames and I like the idea of spindle based power for all bikes because it houses the strain gages and electronics out of the elements. So, a system like Cinch that measures both sides. As I use a Cinch meter on my road bike and the primary tool for TR work it’s frustrating especially on higher VO2 max efforts to hit numbers when you know full well the power you’re seeing is effectively lower than what you’re putting out.

Basically I think there’s still a lot of room to improve this vital training tool. Especially for off road racers

5 Likes

Standardized bottom bracket. Good luck :wink:

12 Likes

bsa bsa bsa

4 Likes

Thanks for the input.

1 Like