What does a strong core feel like when biking

I don’t have any injuries or any discomfort most of the time but I also am a small build 5’10’’ and 136 lbs. I haven’t done a single weight training session since I started training on the bike but was considering doing the core exercises recommended by coach Chad in one of the blog posts.

Question: what does it feel like when you have a strong core? Does the distribution of weight on the bike changes? Do you feel like you have to push less hard? I am curious what improvements you have experience by focusing on core strength.

1 Like

Increased ability to put out high power while seated - for me this presents with less lower back pain on long hard races and a better ability to stay seated even when the cadence is forced to drop due to steep climbs

1 Like

Bum solid on the saddle during hard efforts. When you’re out the saddle, you don’t look like you’re ‘smashing’ it with your hips going on over the place, keeping everything smooth and helping power transfer. Core strength helps to angle the hips back so you can ride in a more tucked over position without crunching your cojones. Helps to avoid a sore lower back in long rides (and in general). You also feel a much better connection between each contact point on the bike.

I focused a lot this year on core strength and it really has helped. I wouldn’t say you have to push ‘less’ hard, although you’ll pedal more efficiently and reduce pain around the body. In terms of weight I’d say it helps reduce weight on the handlebars as you can ‘hover’ off them a little more. I also feel like it gives me an extra weapon in a sprint when you really want to be using each muscle you can.

Watch Alberto Contador here for an idea of what it ‘looks’ like instead of feels (around 2:05 minutes in), putting out a huge effort, and able to look smooth and controlled, driving his effort from the core (warning, terrible music):

3 Likes