Why are there so many workouts that are almost the same?

I am pretty new to TR and I am on the medium volume general build plan. I just did Baird+6 today and I saw in a couple of weeks I do Bashful+6. Looking at the little picture they look identical. Reading the details I see they are identical except Bashful has 8 minutes of recovery between sets while Baird has 5 minutes. The interval efforts differ by only 2% of FTP. The total TSS are different by 3. So, I looked around at more of the workouts and I see that there are many other groups that are almost the same. Why? I don’t understand? Is there really a need for both a Baird and a Bashful? Do they really have that much of a different effect? Or is it just padding the list of available workouts? When and why would I chose one over the other? I’m not criticizing. I am just trying to understand how this stuff works.

1 Like

Why don’t you do them and compare notes?

That 2% diff and/or that 3min inter-set recovery could be the difference between requiring backpedals to finish or not. When on the edge, that 2% might be enough to break you. Those extra 3minutes might make it so you can actually finish the next set. Etc…

Basically, while they look quite similar, the slight differences might make a difference the difficulty level for riders who are right on the edge. For some both will feel the same which could be hard or easy depending on fitness. Also, there is a mental component. No matter the workout, 8minutes seems like a LOT of rest to me, while 5min seems about normal.

10 Likes

The workouts are designed to progress in difficulty as you progress through a plan. So gradually increasing work intervals and gradually decreasing rest intervals. If you just look at workouts on their own they may look pretty similar but look at where they fall in a specific plan and it should make more sense. Also compare the IF of the workouts and that will guide you in level of relative difficulty

8 Likes