Withings scale issue?

Hi all

I’ve been using a Withings scale for the last 4 months. Body fat percentage started at 30% and dropped to 25% over the course of those 4 months. Muscle mass never went above 67% which, according to the scale, is well under the average.

Last week I found out from another TR user that the scale has an athlete mode, it should be used for anyone who exercises 8+ hours a week and has a resting heart rate under 60bpm.

I turned on heart rate mode and my fat percentage dropped to 18% and muscle mass went up to 80%, this has been the consistent reading for the last week. Have I been using the scale wrong this whole time or is the scale borked?

I have the same scale and do not use athlete mode. My body fat percentage started at 26% and currently at 22%. I’m now curious as to what changing the mode over to to athlete mode would read for me… Hmmm

What is the recommended mode? I am sort of all over the board on hours per week, anywhere from 6.5-12 hours a week. It’s never the same, some weekends I do longer rides than other. I’d like to think I’m an athlete, but I don’t race with anyone but myself. Always chasing that speed gain or PR improvement.

2 Likes

I have no idea if the following applies to this scale, but the TR crew found that the Tanita settings showed:

• Scale @ Regular = Approximate correlation with DEXA scans of Total Body Fat (subcutaneous, visceral, etc.)

• Scale @ Athlete = Approximate correlation with skin caliper body fat measurement (subcutaneous only)

If the above is true, it seems likely best to use the Regular setting to track your entire fat percentage and it’s relation to muscle mass and everything else.

See Nate’s original thread for a deeper dive and related discussion:

5 Likes

Thanks for pulling out that info Chad, I knew it was too good to be true.

1 Like

Didn’t @Nate_Pearson have a spreadsheet with the body cardio scale (which I believe is a withings sub-brand)?

1 Like