Working up to 26mi (each way) commute

I’ve been using TR for a few months now and had some great progress. I only started riding seriously last year, and commuting to work once or twice a week really helped rack up the miles. My commute is about 26 miles each way, 800 ft of climbing, and I’m about 250lbs with an FTP of 278W.

I’m not a racer, but I’ve set an ambitious (for me anyway) goal of 6000 miles and at least 8 centuries this year. I figure if I could combine my commute with TR outdoor workouts that would really help, and with any luck I’ll drop some weight too.

It takes me about 1.5 hrs each way now and I’m usually tired the following day. I’d like to work up to commuting 3 or 4 times per week but still have energy for longer rides on the weekend. Any advice on how to get there? I’m thinking I could aim for 2x week for a few weeks, with an outdoor TR workout on the way in and an easier endurance pace ride home. Does that sound reasonable? Should I aim for a certain IF or is there another good technique for pacing that might help? Any advice is greatly appreciated!!

1 Like

2 x 90 minute workouts on the same day is quite taxing on the body already.

Doing it 3-4X a week… hard to imagine. Will you have any energy left in the tank to work?

Have you considered an e-bike? You can pin your effort level via a pedal based power meter (or the case of Specialized e-bikes, it’s built-in) and let the motor do the rest. Makes a huge difference trying to stay in Z1/Z2, which is probably where you’ll want to be on the ride home.

3 Likes

Thanks for the input! On the days I did commute last year, I was never tired at work. In fact, I always felt energized. It takes me an hour to drive that route since it’s mostly back roads with a little traffic.

I sit at a desk all day dreaming of riding my bike haha so this was such a boost for my mood and overall well being.

5 Likes